The Last Post


Well folks that’s the end of my EV driving experience as the Nissan Leaf went back to finance house last week. I feel like I’ve lost a friend as the car was exactly what I needed, reliable, quiet, clean and always ready to go. I’m now back driving my 2000 TT which is another reliable little car. We now have a diesel Evoque plus the petrol TT. I ended the PCP a couple of months early as I realised I had been ‘had’ on the mileage I thought it was 10,000 per annum but I re-read the paperwork and realised the salesman had reduced the annual mileage to just 7000 to fit in with the monthly payments. My fault I should have read and re-read everything at the time. So I ran out of mileage which left the Leaf in my garage doing nothing for a couple of months. I’m now waiting for RCI finance to sting me for the excess mileage so all in all financially not a great idea to go electric. If you are thinking about an all electric vehicle I would urge you to wait at least a year as that’s when we can expect a real world 250 mile motor to arrive in Great Britain. 250 miles will allow most folk to charge at home & work (maybe) without having to use the very expensive Ecotricity fast chargers as charging from home / work is the only way to make financial sense of owning an EV. If anyone wants to have a chat about going electric before getting an EV please drop me a line !.

About stevenbarrett23

I run a telephone & computer supply and maintenance business, mainly VoIP, traditional phone systems & Cloud office systems. www.portelav.co.uk. I've been with the Company since 1981 so pre-mobiles pre-PC's. We are very keen on reducing our own and other businesses carbon output so we all work from home. The EV is just the next logical step towards being carbon neutral both in business and personally. Your kids will be thanking us for leaving a bit of the Planet for them once we push off !
This entry was posted in Electric Vehicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

