Ecotricity shocker plus thoughts on the future


I was stunned to discover the price to charge using one of their fast chargers is going to be a huge £6.00 for 30 minutes of power. In my Leaf that equates to 60 miles making a fuel efficient petrol car more viable. I will be ceasing long distance driving & only use the Leaf when I can charge at home or via slower less expensive chargers such as when at the shopping Malls dotted around where we live. I know Dale has to pay out for his recent divorce settlement but I didn’t realise we were going to be funding it for him !.

My PCP Leaf will be going back to the finance house before the end of 2016 or early 2017 depending on when I can find (and afford) a replacement vehicle which will probably not be electric, not until they come up with a 250 mi range or I can afford a used dual fuel EV.

Snag with buying an EV right now is trying to get a decent price when you come to sell the thing that’s when the motor industry teaches you a lesson with a kick in the teeth only offering really low prices, way below the vehicles RV from the finance house.

I know eventually all houses will have super efficient solar collection plus battery storage maybe feeding electric heating & our electric vehicles, but right now everything is just too inefficient & expensive to justify swapping out existing kit or investing in the ‘future’. I guess when oil prices ramp up yet again we will all be doing the sums to see if its viable to swap over.

About stevenbarrett23

I run a telephone & computer supply and maintenance business, mainly VoIP, traditional phone systems & Cloud office systems. www.portelav.co.uk. I've been with the Company since 1981 so pre-mobiles pre-PC's. We are very keen on reducing our own and other businesses carbon output so we all work from home. The EV is just the next logical step towards being carbon neutral both in business and personally. Your kids will be thanking us for leaving a bit of the Planet for them once we push off !
This entry was posted in Electric Vehicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

