More on the Broken ecotricity chargers


I’ve noticed my Evie isn’t doing so well on the distance at the moment. Charging at home gets me to 100% but I’m only getting around 60mi for this instead of the expected 85mi I’ve been used to during the summer months. Usually I can get plugged on somewhere completing my journeys in the Leaf without much effort. With the advent of cheap Renault Zoe’s it seems everywhere I go to charge has a Zoe already plugged in !!. Coupled with there only being a few working ecotricity DC chargers in Yorkshire means I’ve had to resort to using the petrol car for some journeys (gasp). Very sad to find these brand spanking new ecotricity chargers broken sometimes for weeks if not months on end. Last Saturday I went to IKEA Birstall (near Leeds) to find a totally discharged Zoe on the only working DC charging station. I phoned ecotricity and their guy said Ferrybridge (M62/A1) was definitely working so as I was heading in that direction I set off to discover one charger was dead and the other said it was charging a car already …no-one but me there at the time !. I tried to get to my Pontefract destination where I could plug in my 13A home charger and although the guess-o-meter said I had 17 mi left and the destination was only 9 mi away I ended up cutting out a mile short and had to be hauled off to Woolley Edge Northbound (M1) Services – Southbound being (of course) out of action. The only good thing about breaking down is you meet some really nice breakdown people !. Quick charge and then off home as I had missed my visit plus it was snowing so basically I had had enough. We need more charging stations, the fast type two chargers plus a couple of DC chargers would get most of us on our way. I was told these huge DC chargers cost the TEN-T initiative some £25,000.00 each from ecotricity so a typical installation at both sides of a service station nets £100,000.00 a time. Its just a pity they cannot maintain them to a decent level, blaming British Gas for failing to come out isn’t an acceptable excuse. Perhaps there’s some hidden agenda here but we need a very fast fix otherwise the EV revolution is going to die in its infancy. I am seriously considering putting my Leaf in against a hybrid just because there are too few DC chargers and the few we have are permanently broken, that way I can charge at home and also use the few remaining functioning chargers or just allow the petrol engine to kick in and get me home. Its not all doom and gloom though, I discovered to my delight that little Evie is good in the snow !  now who would have thought that !!.  All the very best. Steven

About stevenbarrett23

I run a telephone & computer supply and maintenance business, mainly VoIP, traditional phone systems & Cloud office systems. www.portelav.co.uk. I've been with the Company since 1981 so pre-mobiles pre-PC's. We are very keen on reducing our own and other businesses carbon output so we all work from home. The EV is just the next logical step towards being carbon neutral both in business and personally. Your kids will be thanking us for leaving a bit of the Planet for them once we push off !
This entry was posted in Electric Vehicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

